create a new freedom force with a freeware game engine like ogre 3d?

Started by naitvalis, July 21, 2010, 07:17:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

naitvalis

i wonder if someone have maybe some knowledge of this new free game engines out there, cause i don't see the coming of a new freedom force near, maybe we can start a project over years if someone is interested. i see some screenshots of game created and sure can handle a decent graphic.
i'm not an expert i'm just asking to know.

Midnight

Well, I'm not sure there's a call to make a freeware Freedom Force clone, but there might be a call for a sort of top-down tactical RPG toolset, like Neverwinter Night's Aurora Toolset.

Mr. Hamrick

might be an interesting project to embark on.  I have not played Neverwinter Nights but i like tactical RPGs somewhat.  (ok, I may be off but I am thinking of Mass Effect 2 as somewhat of a tactical RPG in some ways)

lugaru

I will take anything that can be customized and has heroes at this point, be it a flash game or a full on multi million dollar release. If anyone ever starts a freedom force style project I'll jump in with whatever skills I have (english/spanish translator, writer, mechanics ballance, years of comic nerdom).

lugaru

http://www.panda3d.org/

Besides OGRE 3D has anyone considered Panda? Seems like a long shot but if meshes can be loaded up in there it would probably open a bunch of doors.

Epimethee

I don't see Ogre as a viable choice, as it's a 3D engine, not a full-fledged game engine. Panda, on the other hand, is a game engine which should be somewhat approachable, as one of its goals is rapid application development by students (Carnegie programming students are not exactly computer noobs, but it's a start). Supports mlre than just Windows, mature and comes with solid Python bindings.

While the current FF community doesn't look large enough to support a project of this scope, IMO, it is certainly worth exploring.