Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Seasons Greetings!


Author Topic: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!  (Read 15744 times)

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3855
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #270 on: August 01, 2017, 11:03:05 PM »
This should help:

Target: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Irrational Games\Freedom Force vs The 3rd Reich\ffvt3r.exe" -game MA -log

Start in: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Irrational Games\Freedom Force vs The 3rd Reich\MA\..\"

Copy the bold text EXACTLY and paste them in their respective fields :)

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8101
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #271 on: August 01, 2017, 11:44:27 PM »
Are you using the Disk version of the Game?  If so, then for your "Play Marvel Adventuers" Shortcut, I believe you want the following settings:

Target: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Irrational Games\Freedom Force vs The 3rd Reich\ffvt3r.exe" -game MA -log

Start In: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Irrational Games\Freedom Force vs The 3rd Reich\"

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #272 on: August 02, 2017, 12:39:32 AM »
Thanks gents!

Also, the .exes SHOULD set up automatically to whatever directory you installed the game.  You can use them instead of the shortcut, if you like.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8101
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #273 on: August 02, 2017, 02:16:37 AM »
Ninja'd by Spyder, but I would go with his response over mine.

@ Benton: When I had installed MA, I had been using Avira Antivirus, and it deleted all the (.exe) files, labeling them as problem files.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #274 on: August 02, 2017, 02:48:54 AM »
I replaced the ones my AV disliked with fresh ones for the latest versions, but your mileage may vary.  I'm fairly certain that the issue is just the fact that the .exe alters files (copying your campaigns and such), but better safe than sorry.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #275 on: December 12, 2017, 02:19:59 PM »
First of all @BentonGrey thanks for all the work on all the  :ffvstr: mods. For the Marvel Adventures vol 2.0.

When I play the mod, I notice that when: using the right mouse button to show the attack powers on an opponent, I do not see their energy usage for a couple of the powers on the top of the list. I do sometimes see them for the powers at the bottom of a list. I noticed the same thing in the Spiderman and Ghostbusters mod. I am using Windows 10 and the GOG.com version of  :ffvstr: .

So can anyone help?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #276 on: December 12, 2017, 02:25:33 PM »
Howdy Lunati, and thanks for the kind words! 

Wow, I'm afraid I've never encountered that.  I have no idea what would cause that.  I assume it's some kind of weirdness with Windows 10, but I'm not sure.  You might try playing in compatibility mode for XP SP 2 or 3, but I'm not sure that would do anything.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #277 on: December 12, 2017, 03:52:42 PM »
Howdy Lunati, and thanks for the kind words! 

Wow, I'm afraid I've never encountered that.  I have no idea what would cause that.  I assume it's some kind of weirdness with Windows 10, but I'm not sure.  You might try playing in compatibility mode for XP SP 2 or 3, but I'm not sure that would do anything.

Thanks. I just got a reply on the Technical Issues forum, it seems to be an FFX 3.3 feature called 'Overspend Energy w/Stun Risk' . Quite a newbie experience, just seems it was a setting I didn't knew I was using. Turned it off and it seems fine now.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #278 on: December 12, 2017, 04:47:49 PM »
Ahh, see, I'm so used to that always being there that it didn't even occur to me as a factor.  It's funny how familiarity can blind us.  Anyway I hope you enjoy the mod!
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #279 on: December 18, 2017, 06:37:54 PM »
Just finished the Spiderman Mod on Marvel Adventures Vol 2. , really nice mod  :D. Like the variation of the Marvel characters, there's a nice range to choose from in the end. Really enjoyed it, really a nice way to revisit  :ffvstr:

@BentonGrey What is the best way to give feedback on the mod and prevent spoilers for others?

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #280 on: December 22, 2017, 08:25:12 PM »
Just played the X-Men Solo mod in this series, please note that when an objective states 'Sneak past guard'  :ph34r:, the objective isn't actually to sneak past unseen. It just means, kill the guard before he sounds an alarm. Just sneaking by unseen doesn't give you the objective, although it does give you more of an advantage, since every battle not fought is also HP's not reduced  :cool:

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #281 on: December 29, 2017, 06:03:14 PM »
Howdy Lunati!  I'm delighted you enjoyed the mod!  I'm glad you found the cast of Spider-Man campaign engaging.  As these always do, the project got away from me!  ;)

The best way to give feedback would be here, using the spoiler feature. 

As for the "Sneak" objectives, essentially they are all jerry-rigged, as EZScript, which I use to create them, has no way to do this properly.  There's no mechanism to detect NOT knocking somebody out.  So, you "complete" the objectives even if you don't complete the objectives.  Essentially, the only way to fail is to let the guard escape to summon his buddies. 

So, any other feedback or thoughts?  I love hearing from players!
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #282 on: December 30, 2017, 07:50:27 PM »
* SPOILER ALERT * scroll down to see more about my feedback on the Spiderman Mod and X-men mod (not the solo) and also the X-men solo mod...









I running the GOG.com version of  :ffvstr: on Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit. Since I have some feedback on the visuals I note this here.

I will start with the Spider-Man mod. 1) Some of the levels had some loose items in the levels, that showed pink textures. Although it wasn't that noticable. 2) Another texture issue I noticed, sometimes powers would show either purple or red ribbons, looked like a texture error. 3) Sometimes at the end of a level, there keeps to be some kind of 'thumbing' sound that just keeps repeating, don't really know what that's about. 4) On the last level, that is a Mod Ghost to choose a side, this didn't work. All villans just fought with each other and I could just wait out their battle, and just finish off the winners. Might work better to fight three groups of villans at once, then the next three groups step by step. E.g. by when entering a crossing have them north, east and west of the heroes group. So you are forced to engage.

For the X-men mod (not the solo one, but the other one). Well that is quite a large mod, well done. 1) In the first (there might be more) level with Magneto, there the entire surface the heroes walked on was pink. From there on out, also some of the hero textures turned pink in every following level. When defending the X-men mansion it became barely playable, since most of the heroes had pink textures by then. So I am thinking of stopping there, since with so many pink heroes it is just not playable in the levels that follow. (to quote Guybrush Threepwood... but it's it's pink!) 2) From the first level with Magneto, I got double heroes. The heroes that I chose and the AI heroes in the levels overlap. This also happened later. And there was a level where in the cutscene Professor X says I will stay behind and monitor the situation, then I would expect Professor X to NOT be available for the mission, although he was.

Still the X-Men solo mod, was overall the best, when just looking at the graphics presentation. 1) There were only some issues on the Gambit levels, with some small pink textures on small blocks in the scenery, although that could have been anything. It at least did not register as a health, energy or prestige cannister when playing.

Thanks for the mods, just love that this good old game can still be enjoyed with so many interesting mods.




Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #283 on: December 31, 2017, 04:28:16 AM »
Howdy Lunati!  Thanks for the feedback! 

I'm traveling at the moment and don't have time for testing and the like, but I want to point out a few different things.

First, some of the graphical issues you're having might be a matter of a memory leak in FF.  I don't think that all of those are missing textures, as others haven't reported them  (but I will, of course, test and check these things out).  If you play for an extended period of time and without restarting your computer, you can get memory leaks that cause such issues.  It SHOULDN'T be happening, because I've replaced all of the skins with DDS instead of TGA, but it's still happening, and I don't know why.  Try restarting and seeing if those levels will be any better.

Second, the 'spirit of the mod' in Spider-Man shouldn't be offering to let you choose a side, he should be letting you chose some allies.

Third, yeah, being able to bring the same X-Men into the mission that are allies IN the mission is a mistake.  Which missions did that happen on?

Thanks again!  When I get home I'll see what I can figure out about this.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8101
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #284 on: December 31, 2017, 05:51:08 AM »
Hi Lunati, quick questions for you if you don't mind. The pinking issue, is it happening more on the Characters or the Maps? And if it is the Characters, is it occurring with particular ones more than others?

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #285 on: December 31, 2017, 09:46:37 AM »
@Bentongrey Thanks for the feedback, I will certainly test the restart and do the levels again to see if the 'pink' issue is a memory problem. Could well be the case, since I was playing longer than usual. The duplicate heroes only appeared in the X-men (not the solo) mod, in the first level with Magneto and when defending the mansion.

@Cyber Burn The pinking issue is happening more on Characters in de X-men (not the solo) mod, and for the characters it now was mainly Storm, Wolverine, Banshee. I think it were mostly heroes I chose more often, so that could then be related to a FF memory issue.

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #286 on: December 31, 2017, 11:00:36 AM »
@Bentongrey I looked into the X-men mod (not the solo) and found a couple of things of interest.

  • First of all, most mods warn me that it has been compiled with a unlicenced compiler, I just ignore this and say yes play this mod.
  • I save the games always between the missions. Now I noticed that the mod might have skipped a couple of levels in the mod. Since my savegames go from '03X breaking the inner circle' to '06X brothers and sisters', so could it be that I am skipping level 04 and 05 in this mod?
  • Restarting the PC did not solve the 'pink' problem, it still occurs on the level with Magneto on the ground surface that is completely pink. And then if I load any of the savegames past that, the characters are pink, boots and ears on Wolverine, Cape on Storm is pink, hair on Banshee. I can't really see a pattern on that, except that maybe not loading the Magneto level might help.
  • There seems to be an issue with the level with Magneto and the pink ground surface, only if I load that first the pink problem also occurs on characters. If I do not load it first, and go straight to loading the level when defending the mansion the characters do look good. Well only one new problem occurs, Banshee is shown as walking AND flying model at the same time. This is also the level with the doubles: Iceman, Wolverine and Banshee from the start on this level.

Hope this can be debugged when you return from your travels.

« Last Edit: December 31, 2017, 11:08:11 AM by Lunati »

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #287 on: January 07, 2018, 09:05:30 AM »
* SPOILER ALERT * scroll down to see more about my feedback on the Invaders mod...










In the fourth (and possible) final mission, where you encounter a couple of foes in an enclosed space. There is the blue flying one, when I just ran past them and later returened it appeared to be 'stuck to the ceiling' and then got beyond that. So that I could not defeat that one, to continue the game. So I had to restart, that foe just went to infinitiy and beyond ;-). Might it be possible to lower the ceiling in a level, so a player can always see the foe, when zoomed out completely?

After the fourth mission, when Zemo is defeated there is still a bit of epilogue. So is it intended to end on that, since after that I get a mission where I can not select any heroes for the mission, but I can Enter the Fray, just to get to a big black nothing ;-) ingame.

I liked the Invaders mod, but I think that is mostly because of the famililarity with Captain America. And I found it quite though to figure out the level, where there was a displaced character. First I though I just really neede the hero with electric power, although in the end it came down to get him pinned down and blasting everything I've got at him. That kinda worked. It did get a bit tedious though.

Overall I think I like the city levels in the mods the best, versus heroes you can hit (not too much displacement). I like the way the scenery and buildings can be used in offence and defence. Makes it an interesting tactical challenge. The confined spaces, like in the fourth level of Invaders, it's a bit too easy to just lure the foes into a funnel and pick them off one by one. The most difficult level for me was the one with the X-men solo with Gambit, since there was almost no scenery for cover. So if you are planning on expanding some of the mods, I would be most interested in the city levels ;-). My favorites so far are the X-men and Spiderman mods.

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #288 on: January 11, 2018, 06:47:25 PM »
* SPOILER ALERT * scroll down to see more about my feedback on the mods: Ironman, Fantastic 4 and Thor...










Ironman Mod: The mod did not run with the exe file. So I tried to copy the campdef.dat to the main map of MA, as I did before with the Fantastic 4 mod. It looks like in the Ironman Mod the cutscenes, are cut short or do not work at all. It seems that I am missing most of the story after the first mission.

Fantastic 4 mod: Although I didn't like the heroes in this series, I did play the first level. And I did like the way you created a nice puzzle to see how to get the heroes back together, using one of the heroes Invisibility and/or Shield powers. Would love to see this kind of mechanic in an X-men mod story. E.g. to use the 'walking trough walls' power (if this is possible in FFvs3R).

Thor mod: I only played the first level, and I would expect the shield to drop on the Executioner when I defeated the Sorceres. But since this did not happen, to me the endgame to defeat the Executioner seems kind of a mission impossible. Since I also could not find any other way to disable the shield he is using.

Well lot's to read when you get back from your travels  :rolleyes:.


Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14462
    • The Greylands
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #289 on: Today at 04:17:52 AM »
Howdy Lunati!  Thanks for all of the feedback!  It looks like you've managed to find a bunch of bugs.  I'm sorry I've been out of touch for so long, but I'm home and have finished getting ready for the semester, so I'm ready to start troubleshooting.  I'm going to post your PMs here below so I can keep everything in one place, if you don't mind. 

Spoiler (click to show/hide)


Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Thanks for the feedback, man.  I'm really glad you enjoyed the X-Men and Spider-Man mods, and I am very pleased that I was able to introduce you to appreciation of a great character like Banshee.  I am still not 100% happy with Wolverine and Iceman's healing, so I may tweak them eventually.  Wolverine may be as close as I can get him, though, as his healing should be powerful, but it should be able to be overcome.  CB gets the credit for the lovely Cap FX, and I can take zero credit for any of the art assets.  They've all been made by folks WAY more talented than me.  :D



I'm going to make a list of issues you've had so I can work through them.  Let me know if there's anything you'd like to add/clairfy.  I'll put commentary after the entry when I've tested and tweaked.  That will be in red.

The issues reported so far are:

X-Men
  • Allied characters showing up as choices in first Magneto mission and defend the Mansion. Fixed
  • EXEs are reporting an unlicensed compiler I'm afraid that this is just the price I pay for using a free compiler.
  • X-Men campaign skipping from 3 to 6. (No, that is not supposed to be happening, and you are missing two levels there, somehow.)  I've checked the campaign files, and they are correct.  I'll play through soon and see if I can replicate this.
  • Pink/missing textures in several places, including Magneto mission, and with extras on Wolverine and other characters.

Invaders:
  • Character lost in ceiling in 4th mission. That is probably just a map glitch, and shouldn't be something that would occur all the time (I hope).  Some maps imported from FF1 will do weird things occasionally, and I'm afraid that's beyond me to fix.  You CAN, however, change the settings for the camera so you can zoom out further, which would at least allow you to see the guy.  Anyone remember how to do that?
  • After 4th level is blank mission.  Yes, that is the final mission, and I've got a placeholder there for if I decide to add more and to prevent a possible bug that can cause crashes if you have too few missions in a campaign.
  • You've got a comment about that mission and a guy with electric powers, but I don't quite understand what you're saying, I'm afraid.

Iron Man
  • Iron Man EXE not working, campaign copy resulting in broken campaign. Fortunately, this one I figured out.  I somehow forgot an unfade command, and with that replaced, everything is working as it should.  I'll release an update once I get the rest of this sorted out.  The EXE is a separate matter, though.

Thor
  • Shield doesn't drop when you defeat Enchantress. This one, at least, I can solve for you.  You don't need to defeat Enchantress, you need to destroy the mask that should spawn next to them.  I thought the dialog would be clear enough, but I see that the objective probably makes that a bit confusing.[/color]

I will definitely need some community help to narrow down/replicate, and troubleshoot here, so help is welcome!

At first glance, I'm seeing a lot of stuff I haven't heard before and some rather odd errors.  I'm rather wondering if you got a bad download.  If I can't replicate some of these errors, I'd suggest redownloading the mod.

The EXE trouble might have to do with false positives from your antivirus.  The way they work is by copying and deleting files, which makes a lot of antivirus programs panic.  You can add them as exceptions though, as I am sure they are okay.  I built them myself from a few lines of code and an icon, so there shouldn't be anything harmful in them.
« Last Edit: Today at 05:56:21 AM by BentonGrey »
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 769
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #290 on: Today at 01:08:38 PM »
Benton, i haven't tried any of the campaigns besides Shield and Spidey but i thought Guardians was only one mission?

Offline Lunati

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
Re: Marvel Adventures Vol. 2 - New Release!!
« Reply #291 on: Today at 04:01:44 PM »
Thanks Bentongrey for getting back. I will be adding my comments in blue, as a response on some remarks / questions. And it's no problem you posted the PM's, for me it was because I just did not know how to use the Spoiler feature then. So sent them as PM to be on the safe side.

I'm going to make a list of issues you've had so I can work through them.  Let me know if there's anything you'd like to add/clairfy.  I'll put commentary after the entry when I've tested and tweaked.  That will be in red.

The issues reported so far are:

X-Men
  • Allied characters showing up as choices in first Magneto mission and defend the Mansion. Fixed
  • EXEs are reporting an unlicensed compiler I'm afraid that this is just the price I pay for using a free compiler.
  • X-Men campaign skipping from 3 to 6. (No, that is not supposed to be happening, and you are missing two levels there, somehow.)  I've checked the campaign files, and they are correct.  I'll play through soon and see if I can replicate this.
  • Pink/missing textures in several places, including Magneto mission, and with extras on Wolverine and other characters. It seems to start at the Magneto mission, on that mission (even when restarting the PC to clear the memory banks) the ground surface is pink.

Invaders:
  • Character lost in ceiling in 4th mission. That is probably just a map glitch, and shouldn't be something that would occur all the time (I hope).  Some maps imported from FF1 will do weird things occasionally, and I'm afraid that's beyond me to fix.  You CAN, however, change the settings for the camera so you can zoom out further, which would at least allow you to see the guy.  Anyone remember how to do that?
  • After 4th level is blank mission.  Yes, that is the final mission, and I've got a placeholder there for if I decide to add more and to prevent a possible bug that can cause crashes if you have too few missions in a campaign.
  • You've got a comment about that mission and a guy with electric powers, but I don't quite understand what you're saying, I'm afraid.  To clarify...
    Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Iron Man
  • Iron Man EXE not working, campaign copy resulting in broken campaign. Fortunately, this one I figured out.  I somehow forgot an unfade command, and with that replaced, everything is working as it should.  I'll release an update once I get the rest of this sorted out.  The EXE is a separate matter, though. Thanks, the EXE is not the problem for me. I do know the workaround, it was just that the cutscenes were cut short and I was missing the story.

Thor
  • Shield doesn't drop when you defeat Enchantress. This one, at least, I can solve for you.  You don't need to defeat Enchantress, you need to destroy the mask that should spawn next to them.  I thought the dialog would be clear enough, but I see that the objective probably makes that a bit confusing. Thanks, I will revisit this. On the subject of dialog, is there a way to make the dialog 'click to continue' , I do often miss pieces of dialog because it runs too fast for me.

I will definitely need some community help to narrow down/replicate, and troubleshoot here, so help is welcome!

At first glance, I'm seeing a lot of stuff I haven't heard before and some rather odd errors.  I'm rather wondering if you got a bad download.  If I can't replicate some of these errors, I'd suggest redownloading the mod.

The EXE trouble might have to do with false positives from your antivirus.  The way they work is by copying and deleting files, which makes a lot of antivirus programs panic.  You can add them as exceptions though, as I am sure they are okay.  I built them myself from a few lines of code and an icon, so there shouldn't be anything harmful in them. I had not EXE trouble with false positives, I already added those to the exeptions. The only thing related to an EXE for me was a reference to the free compiler that was used.