Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Celebrate Freedom!


Author Topic: Issue 52: Desert Fortress map error.  (Read 26903 times)

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 48: Shapeshifter problem
« Reply #600 on: April 05, 2018, 03:04:52 PM »
It's been a while guys, i was off for military duties and i'm back on sabbatical. I was wondering if any of you could tinker magma_ink a little so her default walk animation would be run like the rest of meshes and not fly. Magma doesn't even have a flying ability so it's definitely weird  :D. I can send you the mesh or you can download it from Ink's page on heroforce. I would really appreciate the helping hand and i hope you are all doing great  :thumbup:

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #601 on: May 28, 2018, 06:55:53 PM »
Hello gang. I'm back with a vengeance after military duties and i'm hungry for some good ol' character building. My latest attempt is MCU Ebony Maw and his cool tk powers. I was wonder if it was possible to create a cone fxx that doesn't have a visual fx attached much like the dummy_ffx that is for projectiles. My goal is to make a tk cone to represent Maw's powers.

Second is there any way t create a pulling power? I know there is the swap state option in the FFX CC but somehow it doesn't work. I have given Maw a decrease power that has a state swap for pull in the CC and the target isn't moving towards my character.

Those are the two issues i have. I'm looking forward to your feedback and thanks in advance  :D


Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3940
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #602 on: May 28, 2018, 07:27:44 PM »
Welcome back, Jim!

For the FX question, I'm not 100% sure. It might be possible. I typically just use the shockwave FX for my tk cones, though, so I've never really tested it.

For the pull question, make sure that the attack is a projectile, beam, or melee attack. Cones, explosive projectiles, area, and direct powers do not work with FFX custom attacks.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #603 on: May 28, 2018, 08:40:55 PM »
Howdy Jim, and welcome back man!  I'm glad to see you and glad that you've come back ready to create more awesome stuff!  How was your service time?

As for your questions, other than what Spyder says, I don't have much to offer.  I think that the FX should be possible.  Honestly, if you just take a cone FX, hide it in nifskope, it should be invisible yet the game should still use it.

The pull and other state swaps can be a bit finicky.  In the DCUG at the moment, Atom I's swaps are working fine, while Mr. Terrific I's are not.  Go figure.  I have had some luck with adding custom entries in FFXCustom.py, even if I'm not tweaking anything.  And, of course, don't forget to brand (and make sure you don't have extra civilian templates when you do).
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3940
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #604 on: May 28, 2018, 09:47:33 PM »
Howdy Jim, and welcome back man!  I'm glad to see you and glad that you've come back ready to create more awesome stuff!  How was your service time?

As for your questions, other than what Spyder says, I don't have much to offer.  I think that the FX should be possible.  Honestly, if you just take a cone FX, hide it in nifskope, it should be invisible yet the game should still use it.

The pull and other state swaps can be a bit finicky.  In the DCUG at the moment, Atom I's swaps are working fine, while Mr. Terrific I's are not.  Go figure.  I have had some luck with adding custom entries in FFXCustom.py, even if I'm not tweaking anything.  And, of course, don't forget to brand (and make sure you don't have extra civilian templates when you do).

You might want to check and make sure that Mr Terrific's FFX power swaps haven't been removed. If a swap isn't handled by the Control Centre, it might have been replaced in your ffxcustom.py

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #605 on: May 28, 2018, 10:21:07 PM »
Thanks for the tip, Spyder, but unfortunately I had already checked.  Everything seems hunky dory as far as I can see.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #606 on: May 29, 2018, 01:11:03 PM »
It's good to see you both again. Service time wasn't the best Benton but it had to be done so  :thumbup:. I don't know how to hide a cone fx in nifskope, i'm afraid i only use nifskope for kfs and maybe some weapon nodes from time to time.

Spyder, i think the key is that i used a direct power. I will switch to beam and see if the state swap works. is there a way to increase the distance in the pull?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #607 on: May 29, 2018, 01:49:00 PM »
Well, thank you for your service, my friend!  We're glad you're back!

Alright, so it is super easy to hide stuff in Nifskope.  Just open up the mesh, and for an FX, you want the core.nif, then click on the think you want to hide, find where it is selected in the menu on the left, right click on it, choose "Flags" and check the box next to "hidden."  That's it.  The object should vanish.  If you need to unhide something, select the dropdown menu "Render" and choose "Show Hidden."  Then merely select the object again and uncheck the hidden box.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #608 on: May 31, 2018, 09:58:22 AM »
The cone works great and i figured out a way to do the pull power. is there any way to adjust the distance the target is getting pulled towards me?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #609 on: May 31, 2018, 04:26:51 PM »
Great!  Hmm...I don't see any mention in the manual of that customization.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 50: BACK WITH A VENGEANCE!!!
« Reply #610 on: June 19, 2018, 01:50:58 PM »
Spyder i know you are a savant of the ais and the overall coding of the game. Have you figured out a way to increase the distance of the pull state swap? It would really useful i think, like a reverse knockback power.

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #611 on: June 27, 2018, 06:02:55 PM »
Does anyone have the snowy map from the Marvel Adventures first X-men mission? The one where X-men fight Alpha Flight. I have he mediafire folder of the Fx Force but the map is probably under a different name. If anyone has it i would greatly appreciate it :thumbup:

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #612 on: June 28, 2018, 09:31:10 AM »
I'm positive it's a Cmdrkoening map, a DS map, and I feel like it was released under the name ds_snowy_rockies or something along that line.  I'm traveling and can't send it to Jim, but I hope someone out there has it.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #613 on: June 28, 2018, 06:38:47 PM »
I'm afraid there is no such map in the Fxforce mediafire folders Benton. The close is snowy_forest and snowy_forest_2 and they are completely different maps. In the ds_map section there neither snowy nor rockies. Are you positive you got the map from Fx Force?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #614 on: June 28, 2018, 07:39:00 PM »
No, it wasn't in FX Force, come to think of it.  I think it was released later, so it was on FRP2.  I know the archive for those maps is around someplace....
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Deaths Jester

  • Drunken Arse!!
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4153
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #615 on: June 28, 2018, 08:07:25 PM »
Avatar picture originally a Brom painting entitled Marionette.

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #616 on: June 30, 2018, 10:50:00 AM »
"503 Service Unavailable".

It seems the archive is down :banghead:. It really isn't my lucky week, isn't it? DJ, do yo happen to have that map in your disk?

Edit: I can see the maps but they are only images. There isn't any download button and the zip files aren't archived.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2018, 11:13:02 AM by Jimaras8 »

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3940
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #617 on: June 30, 2018, 02:50:05 PM »


Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #619 on: June 30, 2018, 05:55:45 PM »
I found the map, put him in the missions and area_specific folder respectively anddddd it still crashes. I have no idea why.

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 51: MA First X-men mission map.
« Reply #620 on: July 03, 2018, 03:55:29 PM »
If anyone  still has any idea over rockies, i would greatly appreciate it. Right now, i need to get the desert_fortress map to work. The message that pops up in the RR is this: "alert:N character template was found to generate action for turret_carrier". I assume i have to create a template in the FFEdit but i have no idea what.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14748
    • The Greylands
Re: Issue 52: Desert Fortress map error.
« Reply #621 on: July 04, 2018, 10:32:51 PM »
Howdy Jim, sorry about the continued map troubles!  I've got no idea why the Rockies map would be crashing still.  If you still haven't figured it out by the time I get home, I'll try to give it a look.

The desert one should be a bit easier.  You'll just need to open the map in FFEdit and delete any of those turrets on it through the list.  You don't even need to open the 3D editor.

You could also create a template for it, if you wanted.  If so, you SHOULD find that template in my MA mod, I think, though I'm not sure.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline detourne_me

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 6012
  • Manipulator of mental motion sickness
    • Force of Paradox!
Re: Issue 52: Desert Fortress map error.
« Reply #622 on: July 05, 2018, 04:21:17 AM »
I think the issue might be because the textures point to the wrong folder, or something like that. If I'm not mistaken, I think Cmdr. Koenig used his Canadian Winter Airfield map textures for the Rockies map. There may be some issues there.

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 52: Desert Fortress map error.
« Reply #623 on: July 08, 2018, 08:47:55 AM »
Benton i can see the turret_carrier template in the FFEdit in your MA mod. Do i have to copy it in the missions section or something? I would prefer the map to be complete  turrets and all. The thing is that when i load the second shield mission that has the desert_fortress i can see the turret_carrier in the mission.dat
« Last Edit: July 08, 2018, 08:51:58 AM by Jimaras8 »

Offline Jimaras8

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 814
Re: Issue 52: Desert Fortress map error.
« Reply #624 on: July 11, 2018, 03:57:22 PM »
As my previous message said, i managed to make the desert fortress map work but i would really like it if i could add the turrets he already had. I had to delete them because the FFEdit couldn't find the character template even though i could clearly see in the templates section. How can i add them back to the map in FFEdit and make them work?