Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 15th Birthday, Freedom Force!


Author Topic: FX Sounds  (Read 452 times)

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
FX Sounds
« on: July 23, 2016, 05:25:15 PM »
Howdy guys, how do I need to save a sound file to make it work with an FX?
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7850
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2016, 06:04:42 PM »
I believe they need to be (.WAV) Files.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2016, 06:15:24 PM »
Any particular kind?  I see multiple options when I try to export as WAV.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7850
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2016, 06:40:56 PM »
I'm not sure on that one. What Program are you using to convert the File?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2016, 07:30:42 PM »
Audacity.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2016, 11:35:21 PM »
On a different note, what makes an FX have a delay between it's end and the power's effect, specifically for area attacks?

And how do you add a sound to an FX and give it the shorter data path?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2016, 11:40:39 PM by BentonGrey »
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7850
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2016, 01:58:20 AM »
Most of my experience with Audacity has been with exporting to MP3's, but I tried exporting an MP3 to a WAV and wasn't given any options. It was just a clean export.

As for the delay with the FX and the Power's effect, just replace the (End.Nif) with one that is from FFvt3R and you should be fine. Usually, when you see the delay like that, it's because the (End.Nif) is from FF1, and FFvt3R doesn't like that very much. Jealousy, I guess.  :P


Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2016, 02:39:11 AM »
Thanks CB! 

I've set up some new sounds for the Shadow's Laugh and Tarzan's yell, and I can't get them to work.  I'm not sure why.  I added the appropriately named Sounds entries for fx_shadow_laugh_1 and fx_tarzan_yell_1, pointing both to the sounds.  What am I missing?
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7850
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2016, 02:53:48 AM »
To be honest, I've never added custom sounds before, so I'm not quite sure.    :unsure:

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2016, 03:05:41 AM »
Well, I've got the Shadow one to work, but not the Tarzan work...and I have no idea why.  :wacko:
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Panther_Gunn

  • Villains' worst nightmare come true
  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3593
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2016, 02:04:25 AM »
Shorter data path?  Are you putting the sound files in the Data\Sounds\powers directory?

Have you looked over the install instructions for an FX that comes with a custom sound to see if it looks like what you're doing?

Double-check the spelling of the FX and the entry on the Sound tab, in case of typos or underscores that might be added or missing.

I think the sound file specs should be the same as for making voicepacks.

If it's still not working, and everything looks right, try testing the FX with a different animation.  I suppose it could be possible that the particular animation isn't allowing it to start, perhaps not being long enough?  I'm seeing quite a percentage of FX not having a _1 sound, and of the custom ones that do, they use an in-game sound for it.  It might be worth either finding a custom FX that has a custom sound for _1 (or extract the sounds.ff file) and compare the length, and other details, of ones that do work.
The Best There Is At What I Do......when I have the time.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2016, 02:55:08 AM »
Okay, I figured it out!  Thanks for the advice, PG, all good ideas, but it turned out to just be the format of the sound, as I feared.  I re-exported the Tarzan yell, and it worked fine. 

For future reference, FX sounds need to be in WAVE (16 bit) format.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7850
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2016, 01:21:48 PM »
That's good to know. Maybe we should be keeping notes on this subject, since I don't believe I have any.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14329
    • The Greylands
Re: FX Sounds
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2016, 02:59:57 AM »
Howdy HS, the mystery for me was the format.  Other than that, all I can say is make sure your Sound tab entry is correct, both in file name and data path.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2