Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 15th Birthday, Freedom Force!


Author Topic: Replacing Cars  (Read 308 times)

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14216
    • The Greylands
Replacing Cars
« on: September 12, 2016, 04:14:37 AM »
Okay guys, here's a weird one.  I am trying to replace the cars in my Pulp Mod with the civ_ger_auto, but what should be working isn't.  I've changed the templates of the cars to point to the appropriate mesh, but in game the cars still have the old shapes, but now they are missing their textures.  I'm quite confused.  Anyone have any ideas?
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline detourne_me

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 5749
  • Manipulator of mental motion sickness
    • Force of Paradox!
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 06:15:01 AM »
Have you tried renaming the civ_ger_auto files to the standard car filenames and putting them in a folder?
Sometimes changes to the templates in FFEdit don't matter, and the .nifs have to be spoofed.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14216
    • The Greylands
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 03:20:38 PM »
Hey, great idea DM!  I'll give that a try.  I don't know why I didn't think of that.  :wacko:
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14216
    • The Greylands
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2016, 11:12:24 PM »
Bah!  No luck!  I'm afraid I'm going to have to give up on this.  I haven't a clue what the problem is.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7752
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2016, 11:31:35 PM »
What if you renamed the Nif File to "Character.Nif", would that work?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14216
    • The Greylands
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2016, 02:58:15 AM »
Unfortunately it seems to make no difference.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7752
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2016, 03:11:38 AM »
Maybe I just broke the Mesh?  :doh:

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14216
    • The Greylands
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2016, 03:53:13 AM »
Haha, I don't think that's the problem, my friend.  If so, I'd have one of those weird boxes.  Nope, for some reason,  :ffvstr: will just not hear of changing the cars.  It's rather annoying.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline GogglesPizanno

  • Winner of the Indianapolisrock 500
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1939
  • I...need another cocktail
    • GPWarehouse
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2016, 10:59:31 PM »
I think what you were doing would have worked ok if you were adding vehicles fresh to a map as they would load in the new nif template path that you set. For replacing vehicles on existing maps that NIF path was hard coded into the map file when it was placed, so changing the template will have no effect.

* As an aside, this is similar to doing the map pack. I had to manually replace all the paths in existing map files via a hex editor to convert them, while also changing the template paths for any future editing using FF1 assets. Its a 2 part conversion).


Anyway To do what you want to do, you have to manually overwrite the existing vehicle files in your mod.
To get the cars replaced you can do this:

1. In your mod folder navigate to the "\Art\library\vehicles" folder (if its not there, just create it)
2. Create folders for each vehicle you want to replace and name the folder to match the NIF Path name in FFEdit (NOT the template name itself).
3. Rename the nif files to use the nif path name from FFEdit.

Confused?

Let's use car_1 as an example.
Lets say we want to replace car_1 with car_ger_civauto1
  • The template is named "car_1" but looking at the nif path in FFEdit, its actually looking for the path "/car_01/car_01.nif".
  • So in you vehicle folder in the mod directory create a folder called "car_01".
  • Now copy over the German car files you want to use as a replacement. For this example we're using "car_ger_civauto1".
  • rename all the nif files so they match the template path (eg. replace civ_auto1 with car_01 in all the nif filenames). Be sure to keep the _damage and _fragments extentions -- dont edit the texture files :-)

Load up a level with car_1 in it (Such as City Landmarks) and you should see german vehicles parked around town.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 11:01:10 PM by GogglesPizanno »

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14216
    • The Greylands
Re: Replacing Cars
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2016, 10:34:01 PM »
Goggles, you're the man.  I can only imagine how much craziness you had to deal with creating that awesome mappack! 

Anyway, we've got partial success.  The night cars have all been successfully replaced thanks to your advice  I've apparently screwed something up with the day cars, but I'll mess around with it and see if I can figure things out.  Most city missions take place at night anyway.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2