Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 15th Birthday, Freedom Force!


Author Topic: so i got a steam question about instaling mods  (Read 162 times)

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« on: November 06, 2016, 06:45:35 PM »
so i got a steam question about installing mods im having a lot of problems i have windows 8 and its been a pain for me i set my short cuts up like this im tring to add the marvel adventures and i thought i did every thing right and here r my setings

(target)"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Freedom Force vs. the 3rd Reich - Copy\ffvt3r.exe" "-game MA" "-log"

(start in)"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Freedom Force vs. the 3rd Reich - Copy\MA\..\"

id like to know what im doing wrong cause every time i do it its the base game it loads

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3672
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2016, 07:40:41 PM »
Don't put the quotes around the -game MA log

There should only be quotes around the path

Code: [Select]
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Freedom Force vs. the 3rd Reich\ffvt3r.exe" -game ffx3 -log

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Freedom Force vs. the 3rd Reich\ffx3\..\"

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2016, 01:39:12 PM »
ok il try it that way and post if it works thank u in avance

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2016, 01:47:44 PM »
so i still cant get it to open this is what i got now so what am i doing wrong i dont understand its still the base game do i need another program in stalled to my  :ffvstr:

(target)"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Freedom Force vs. the 3rd Reich - Copy\ffvt3r.exe" -game MA -log

(start in)"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Freedom Force vs. the 3rd Reich - Copy\MA\..\"

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 3672
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2016, 04:34:11 PM »
I don't know if this is an issue, but it seems you're not running your mods from your actual :ffvstr: folder. Steam is kinda weird with it's directories (as I found out), so try putting your mod folder inside your :ffvstr:, not the copy of it.

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2016, 05:06:12 PM »
ok im gona try it that way

Offline Symon

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 652
    • Ereshkigal
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2016, 05:22:09 PM »
The general advice with steam or ANY game you intend to mod is to never install anything in the default location.
e.g. ~\Program Files (x86)\Steam\~

UAC and modern defendants do their best to make the Program Files directories inviolate and it sees a mod as an unauthorized change.
Try moving steam to another location, e.g ~\games\Steam~ or something. Their are instructions around for how to move your steam folders.
"You fertility deities are worse than Marxists," he said. "You think that's all that goes on between people."

Roger Zelazny, Lord of Light. 1971.

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2016, 07:10:47 PM »
thank u  spydermann93 it worked and thank u Symon for ur response

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 14124
    • The Greylands
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2016, 08:37:22 PM »
I'm glad you figured this out.  Sorry I hadn't gotten back to you, CP, but I've been crazy busy!
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey/
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bentongrey2

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: so i got a steam question about instaling mods
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2016, 04:25:43 PM »
I'm glad you figured this out.  Sorry I hadn't gotten back to you, CP, but I've been crazy busy!
its all good also when doing the fantastic 4 campaing the first level the wizard head talking nif is missing so i cant contune just so u know also some level go compleatly black after the cut scen iron man first stage some times