Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 15th Birthday, Freedom Force!


Author Topic: Question  (Read 272 times)

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Question
« on: November 29, 2016, 02:14:16 PM »
Not sure maybe this question is in the wrong spot if so I apologize.
Its been a while for me so please forgive me.
How exactly do Cars follow the Terrain is it programed in the Terrain?As in City?
Also how can I place one Map above another to create different levels...

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: Question
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2016, 02:45:24 PM »
i not sure but that sounds like a kick arse idea realy would expand a level and map

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2016, 05:18:00 PM »
Well let me give you an idea of what i want to do...
I noticed no one has done a Bikini Bottom Map
So I want to do one complete with Automotive boats a with the ability of going from one level to the next.
As in the Movie or that one episodes where SpongeBob was lost on a Lower level and keep missing the bus back home.
If any one can help me because if I can get this to work I will post it out for everyone.

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: Question
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2016, 06:44:07 PM »
well i have no clue to even do a reguler map so best wishes to u :thumbup:

Offline daglob

  • Shape-Shifting Silly-Putty Android
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7031
  • Da Glob
Re: Question
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2016, 07:27:50 PM »
You wouldn't dare! ;)

You do have the Spongebob mesh, don't you?

Offline GogglesPizanno

  • Winner of the Indianapolisrock 500
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1939
  • I...need another cocktail
    • GPWarehouse
Re: Question
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2016, 08:04:47 PM »
You won't be able to do the map thing how you want given the way the game engine computes the movement grid.

Imagine a map is like a model or diorama you built (say a bridge). The way the game computes the movement grid (the part the determines where you clicked, and where characters should move to) is like a sheet you drape over the diorama. So only the top most layers can be interacted with. Everything under the top most thing is invisible to the game engine as a valid movement location. This is why none of the maps have multi level things (well they do, but they are careful crafted as one piece using ramps with no overhanging sections)or things you can walk under. With the bridge example, the "Under the bridge" portion is never seen as a valid interaction point because the movement grid that is overlayed sits on top of the bridge.

Its one of the big limitations to making more detailed maps.

Now there are some hacks and things you can do to attempt to fake some simple multilevel things like tagging things as buildings (ie. things that you can walk on) clever use of transparent textures to give the illusion of multilevel... but they don't work really well, will not accomplish what you are after, and make the movement grid glitch out in strange ways.

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: Question
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2016, 10:56:42 PM »
well that sucks  :thumbdown: i was planing to make a under ground level with the city on top like its sewers and the sewers covers r how u get in or a hidden base in a mountian over pass  :(

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2016, 02:30:57 PM »
You won't be able to do the map thing how you want given the way the game engine computes the movement grid.

Imagine a map is like a model or diorama you built (say a bridge). The way the game computes the movement grid (the part the determines where you clicked, and where characters should move to) is like a sheet you drape over the diorama. So only the top most layers can be interacted with. Everything under the top most thing is invisible to the game engine as a valid movement location. This is why none of the maps have multi level things (well they do, but they are careful crafted as one piece using ramps with no overhanging sections)or things you can walk under. With the bridge example, the "Under the bridge" portion is never seen as a valid interaction point because the movement grid that is overlayed sits on top of the bridge.

Its one of the big limitations to making more detailed maps.

Now there are some hacks and things you can do to attempt to fake some simple multilevel things like tagging things as buildings (ie. things that you can walk on) clever use of transparent textures to give the illusion of multilevel... but they don't work really well, will not accomplish what you are after, and make the movement grid glitch out in strange ways.
But what about at the end of FF1 when when they fight the TimeMaster and they go from level to level which was what seemed to be from Map to Map remember?

Offline crosspotts1.0

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 265
Re: Question
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2016, 03:11:13 PM »
I would use that map as a base and add what u need to it or take away what u don't need from it I wish I knew any thing about maps and mods to help more but that's all I can recommend I wanted to put a helacarir over top of the city with sewers and the hellacarior would be just like the city that open ended but a shame u cant have all those layers playable

Offline GogglesPizanno

  • Winner of the Indianapolisrock 500
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1939
  • I...need another cocktail
    • GPWarehouse
Re: Question
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2016, 05:25:13 PM »
But what about at the end of FF1 when when they fight the TimeMaster and they go from level to level which was what seemed to be from Map to Map remember?

That's different in that its not a stacked layered map. Its a single empty map with a series of small areas layed out next to one another (like plates on a table). That is a totally valid way to make a map with various sections on it, all the sections just need to exist on the same plane and not overlap. If the areas are not connected  (ie. there is just empty space between them) there would need to be some scripting to handle transporting characters from one to another.

One other option you might look at is the Patriot City Mod.
http://www.fundamentzero.com/patcity/manual/index.htm

This isn't a single map, but a way to to link multiple maps together using "portals" to create a world made up of linked maps. Each time you jump to a new map, it's like loading up a new level (load screen and everything). But it might accomplish what you were after.

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2016, 11:30:56 PM »
Pizan let me ask you do you remember tommyboy once madea Huuugggeee Map.
How did he enlarge that Map do you know?
Did he connect a series of Maps togther because in the Center was the Park Map.and then he expanded it..
I get what you saying about layers Vertically  but how do you think he went Horizontaly?
Maps lose me.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2016, 01:33:53 AM by hmarrs »

Offline detourne_me

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 5725
  • Manipulator of mental motion sickness
    • Force of Paradox!
Re: Question
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2016, 01:22:55 AM »
IIRC Tommyboy wrote a script to automatically populate a very large terrain.nif that he created. That way each city block looked similar, but it saved him dozens of hours of planting every building and streetlight.

Using python script you can do a few things, like in the Pan or Timemaster maps from the first game where you go from platform to platform. As Goggles pointed out, the Patriot City style of map-making is really cool and no one has really done much more with that concept (ive got tons of ideas for it, but haven't taken a crack at it yet.)

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2016, 01:32:16 AM »
Hey d
Ok I think I see what you saying except that py script loses me I wish I took more time to understand it as I would love to make a version of the game thats not RPG format but regular game mode.
Bearded was working on that but hes been sick poor guy.
Who knows I may try my hand at it....However d as far as the Patriot Maps are concerned when you say they are Veraitile and not to many people have tried their hands at it.Can you explain and what is it that the Patriot Maps do or are capable of?
Can you Elaborte for me please?

Offline detourne_me

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 5725
  • Manipulator of mental motion sickness
    • Force of Paradox!
Re: Question
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2016, 02:16:23 AM »
Patriot City is the free-roaming mod that Dr.Mike2000 made. 
On each map of the mod, he added "doorways" that when you click on them, it loads a new map. So, you would need a set of maps, each with these doorway markers added to them. I believe this freeroam map switching is also included in EZScript, too. 
To my knowledge, noone else has made a freeroam mod and released it.  I once added a map to Patriot City a long time ago for my own personal use, but I've long since lost those files.
http://fundamentzero.com/index_games.htm Download it and take a look for yourself. it's a really cool idea, and I'd love to implement it for Batman, or Star Wars or whatever.

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2016, 02:52:10 PM »
Wow Mike is no joke that sounds Amazing...
Now what do you mean when you say you once add a Map to Patriot City?
Do you mean you added in addition to what Mike had and if so then the Possibilities are Limitless no?
« Last Edit: December 02, 2016, 03:07:22 PM by hmarrs »

Offline detourne_me

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 5725
  • Manipulator of mental motion sickness
    • Force of Paradox!
Re: Question
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2016, 03:21:14 PM »
that's right,  I added another map to the patriotcity maps... i think doing it is part of Dr.Mike's tutorial in the readme...  i don't quite remember.

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2016, 06:18:14 PM »
Can you tell me more about EZscript?

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2016, 03:21:17 PM »
that's right,  I added another map to the patriotcity maps... i think doing it is part of Dr.Mike's tutorial in the readme...  i don't quite remember.
D
Reading what you wrote about Dr.Mikes Method I think I have a way to make the Maps Seemless and what it would be would be that as you leave one Map a background Image of the next Map faces you and as you Cross over to the Next Portal a Background  image of the last Map is behind you  if done right it should be seemless so I"m interested in that Batman cave idea however I would like to know if you can tell me how the method id in EZScript.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2016, 03:26:17 PM by hmarrs »

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2016, 03:31:45 PM »
that's right,  I added another map to the patriotcity maps... i think doing it is part of Dr.Mike's tutorial in the readme...  i don't quite remember.
D
Reading what you wrote about Dr.Mikes Method I think I have a way to make the Maps Seemless and what it would be would be that as you leave one Map a background Image of the next Map faces you and as you Cross over to the Next Portal a Background  image of the last Map is behind you if done right it should be seemless.I don't know maybe that's how its done in.. 'Patriot City"..So what I said may be neither here or there.. I"m interested in that Batman idea like from maybe from Mansion to Cave idea then maybe to Gothom however I would like to know if you or anyone can tell me how the method is in EZScript.


Offline daglob

  • Shape-Shifting Silly-Putty Android
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 7031
  • Da Glob
Re: Question
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2016, 03:52:26 PM »
You know, you could have three maps for verisimilitude: site one, where you are; site two, which would be a ramp or staircase down; and site three, the underground map.

Offline hmarrs

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 258
Re: Question
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2016, 07:15:32 PM »
You know, you could have three maps for verisimilitude: site one, where you are; site two, which would be a ramp or staircase down; and site three, the underground map.
Sounds Smart.