Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy Holidays!


Author Topic: what did i do wrong this time  (Read 150 times)

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
what did i do wrong this time
« on: June 12, 2019, 10:49:05 AM »
so i download sea urchin from this site but she is crashes the game when i try to select her
http://epimethee.webfactional.com/ff/naitvalis/    :ffvstr:

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15273
    • The Greylands
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2019, 03:43:41 PM »
So, my guess is that she needs to be converted.   :ff: meshes don't all work in  :ffvstr: 'out of the box.'  Some of them will crash the game.  You can fix this with EZNifConvert, which you can find on Alex's FF
www.alexff.com/goodies.php

It's very simple and easy to use.  Just convert problem meshes, and they should work fine.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline SickAlice

  • Virtual prophet and aspiring beet farmer
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1892
  • bing cherry
    • The Litterbox aka MeanJellybean
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2019, 04:48:01 PM »
That one doesn't convert actually, it has weird coding in it. But you shouldn't have to, Sea Urchin for  :ffvstr: comes with the game. If want to mess with the character go into the Data folder. Inside is a file named art.ff. Rename that so it has a .rar extension and extract whatever you want, say Sea Urchin to the proper directory. Then rename it back to art.ff.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15273
    • The Greylands
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2019, 05:07:16 PM »
Ahh, right!  Thanks SA!
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline daglob

  • Shape-Shifting Silly-Putty Android
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8894
  • Da Glob
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2019, 06:36:50 PM »
That one doesn't convert actually, it has weird coding in it. But you shouldn't have to, Sea Urchin for  :ffvstr: comes with the game. If want to mess with the character go into the Data folder. Inside is a file named art.ff. Rename that so it has a .rar extension and extract whatever you want, say Sea Urchin to the proper directory. Then rename it back to art.ff.

Or copy art.ff to another directory, change its' name, and then extract the files. But... aren't you working with Nait's Destinies Sea Urchin? If not, and you just want to put a different skin on Sea Urchin, you can create a folder in the custom character folder named exactly the way Sea Urchin is named in art.ff, put a folder in that named skins, and put the new skin in the new skins folder. It will show up in the character creation section and allow you to chose it if you use Sea Urchin as a base.


Hold the phone!

I just tried Nait's Sea Urchin, and she crashes CTool for FFv3R. She does work in FF1, thought. The thing is, Nait's Destinies versions of Microwave, Minuteman, and El Diablo seen to work in either game.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2019, 07:05:17 PM by daglob »

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8532
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2019, 08:20:08 PM »
The Sea Urchin Skope is for FF1. If you look at it in a Hex Editor, in the top right corner, you'll see that the Code Number is "4.0.0.2." which is the reference number stating that it's an FF1 Mesh.


Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8532
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2019, 08:31:56 PM »
Ok, solved it.

1.) Delete the Mesh.

2.) Re-Install it.

3.) Convert ONLY the "Character.Nif"

4.) DO NOT CONVERT THE "KEYFRAMES.KF"

5.) Check your work in CTool2.

Offline daglob

  • Shape-Shifting Silly-Putty Android
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8894
  • Da Glob
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2019, 03:42:30 AM »
I'll give it a try too.

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2019, 05:43:22 AM »
oh boy im lost

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8532
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2019, 11:39:42 AM »
oh boy im lost

Sorry. The picture I posted was that of the “Character.nif” opened up in a Hexadecimal Editor. The “4.0.0.2” means that the (.nif) File is meant for the original Freedom Force Game. This is why it keeps crashing CTool2. When you try to convert the Mesh using EZNifConvert, it’s not working because you are trying to convert both, the (.Nif) file and the (.kf) file.

Because the (.kf) File does not need to be converted, the Mesh won’t convert at all. However, when you use EZNifConvert, you have the option of just converting the “Character.nif”. In this case, that fix your problem with this Mesh.

Worse case scenario, if you can’t get this to work, I'll try to post my copy later on today for you.

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8532
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2019, 05:06:33 PM »
I don't know why the Keyframes aren't converting, but this works in CTool2, so it should, technically, work in  :ffvstr:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/r7afyzvngfkqd55/Destinies-Sea_Urchin_v3R.zip/file

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2019, 04:33:59 AM »
Cyber my dude you are the man

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15273
    • The Greylands
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2019, 04:34:53 AM »
He absolutely is.

Starting to get the hang of things, Preston?  Don't worry, you'll figure it out, and folks here will be happy to help you.  :)
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2019, 04:44:07 AM »
its more like im learning a little at a time, there are still things about what im doing that i don't fully understand

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15273
    • The Greylands
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #14 on: June 14, 2019, 04:55:16 AM »
You'll get it.  :)
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #15 on: June 14, 2019, 05:08:51 AM »
im still scared of dat files
i want to get more in depth with meshes and skins
and i want to change that title music

thats where i want to be

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15273
    • The Greylands
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #16 on: June 14, 2019, 05:52:52 AM »
1) Don't be scared, just back things up.  The best way to learn is to try things out!  This is also why I gave you that advice about FFX3.  If you screw up a mod, you can always just reinstall it, and you can't hurt the base game if you aren't messing with its files.  Mod files are self-contained.
2) Cool, what all do you want to do?
3) Well, I've got good news for you, that is actually SUPER easy. 

After you've unpacked your sound folder, or, in a mod you can just create the Sounds folder:
  • Create/go to Sounds/Musak
  • Find FFmetagame.mp3 (this is the main scree music)
  • Copy it, rename it something else.
  • Find your own music, save it in mono mp3 format (Audacity is great for this kind of work, and it is free).
  • Rename your file to match the one above, and drop it into your musak folder.  Viola.  Done.

You can also replace or add all kinds of music in the same fashion.  You can check out many of my mods to see examples.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #17 on: June 14, 2019, 07:13:40 AM »
umm i don't see FFmetagame.mp3

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15273
    • The Greylands
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #18 on: June 14, 2019, 02:12:02 PM »
1) Have you unpacked your sounds file?
2) Are you in a mod folder or your main folder?
3) I should have clarified.  If you unpack the sounds file in your main folder, it obviously won't show up in your mod folder.
4) It doesn't actually matter.  As long as you place the file you want with the proper name in the directory you're using, the game will use that one instead of the built-in one.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline PrestonUie

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: what did i do wrong this time
« Reply #19 on: June 14, 2019, 05:40:15 PM »
ok i though i did it right but i didn't and i'm in  :ffvstr: