Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy Holidays!


Author Topic: Attribute Combos  (Read 183 times)

Offline OrWolvie1

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 469
Attribute Combos
« on: August 12, 2019, 09:45:02 PM »
Hello all.
       I realize that this is a topic that has probably been done to death but I'm having a brain freeze or something. How does one create attribute combos for use in game? Which files need to be modified for instance. Like I said, I can't recall. It's been too long since I tried messing around with any of that  :banghead:

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4136
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 09:55:37 PM »
ffxmulti.py (in your Missions/Scripts folder)
strings.txt (in your Lang/English folder)
attributes.dat (using FFEdit)

Those should be the only things you need to modify.

Offline OrWolvie1

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 469
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2019, 10:54:42 PM »
ffxmulti.py (in your Missions/Scripts folder)
strings.txt (in your Lang/English folder)
attributes.dat (using FFEdit)

Those should be the only things you need to modify.

Cool. That helps.

Offline oktokels

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 163
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2019, 11:23:44 PM »
You add lines to ffxmulti.py like this:
Quote
['deadpool','superhealer','ironguts','bodyarmor05','acrobatic','mindless','ffqimmortal','slippery','ffqmad'],

All attributes must be added using their FFX name. More information here

http://ffx.freedomforceforever.com/manual/attributes/multis.htm

Offline seraglio

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 391
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2019, 10:15:36 PM »
Hi all. I'm a  :ff: vet but new to  :ffvstr: I tried this process, same as I have done a million times in FF, and my attribute is not showing up in the list. I even added a strings entry, which isn't strictly necessary in FF. Is there another step in this process unique to FFvTR?

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4136
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2019, 11:00:44 PM »
You need to use FFEdit to open up your mod's attribute.dat, go to the attribute section, and add a new attribute with the same exact name as the combo.

For oktokels' example up above, you'd add a "deadpool" attribute and give it a cost.

Offline seraglio

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 391
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2019, 03:53:54 AM »
Did a sanity check and yes, its in the attribute tab of FFedit for  :ffvstr:. Its in ffxmulti.py. and its in strings.dat, which I never really do in FF for just a combo, but didn't know if FFvTR needed it. When I open the game, create character, and look at the attribute list...slowly and painstakingly...there are no new entries anywhere. I'm modding the ffxmulti in the ffx>missions>scripts directory. If I change an existing combo...add or remove something that came with ffx3.3, it works, so I'm working in the correct directory. Any other thoughts as to why a combo might not show up?

Offline oktokels

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 163
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2019, 04:05:56 AM »
Did a sanity check and yes, its in the attribute tab of FFedit for  :ffvstr:. Its in ffxmulti.py. and its in strings.dat, which I never really do in FF for just a combo, but didn't know if FFvTR needed it.

The strings.dat only serves for showing the attribute in the game attribute list. I usually just write the line in ffxmulty.py and then add the attribute to the ezhero list [tools>add custom attribute..] with the same name i used. Then i just give the attribute to any char using ezhero, and it works as long as there is no typing-errors.

Offline OrWolvie1

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 469
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2019, 04:17:01 AM »
Did a sanity check and yes, its in the attribute tab of FFedit for  :ffvstr:. Its in ffxmulti.py. and its in strings.dat, which I never really do in FF for just a combo, but didn't know if FFvTR needed it.

The strings.dat only serves for showing the attribute in the game attribute list. I usually just write the line in ffxmulty.py and then add the attribute to the ezhero list [tools>add custom attribute..] with the same name i used. Then i just give the attribute to any char using ezhero, and it works as long as there is no typing-errors.

While we're on the subject of scripting and whatnot. I have a question as it's been a while for me. I see with your hero files that you've been posting, you include a M25 AI file, which is great! My question is; How do you incorporate it into the game? I can't seem to remember sort of using FFedit to brand the character, I think. Like I said, it's been a while.  :blink:

Offline oktokels

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 163
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2019, 04:20:15 AM »
I use a python encoder [pycharm] to open the m25ai files. These files usually are located in AppData\Local\Irrational Games\Freedom Force vs the 3rd Reich\Custom\Heroes, along with the .HERO files and .PY files [python].

Offline oktokels

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 163
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2019, 04:24:07 AM »
A first basic m25ai file is created when you enter your custom characters in FFX TOOL - M25AI GENERATOR game mode.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 03:17:11 PM by oktokels »

Offline seraglio

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 391
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2019, 11:41:27 PM »
I have Alex's Hero Editor, version 3.7. I looked at this functionality. tools>add custom attribute brought up a text file. I added my entries. I saved the notepad text file. It created an attrib.ini file in the root game directory. What is this file? Was it here before? I'm confused because I don't know how it interacts with attributes.dat, ffxmulti.py, and strings. I did the "refresh attributes" option in the same menu, whatever that really does. It didn't resolve the problem. Still working on it...but thanks, I hadn't thought to use a hero editor to see if I got different results.

Offline oktokels

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 163
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2019, 01:49:16 AM »
It should look like this...hope it helps in someway  :doh:


Offline OrWolvie1

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 469
Re: Attribute Combos
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2019, 02:54:23 AM »
Indeed it does. Thank you so very much for this. As soon as I get something resembling free time, I'll try it out and see how it works for me.  :thumbup: