Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy Holidays!


Author Topic: Putting a Character Mesh Into an FX  (Read 106 times)

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15621
    • The Greylands
Putting a Character Mesh Into an FX
« on: March 09, 2020, 01:02:43 PM »
Howdy guys!  So, I know people have created FX out of character-type nifs.  Can anyone tell me how this is done or point me to a tutorial?  I know you can just copy an extant nif and put it into an FX easily enough, but how do you lock it into a particular pose, if it is a character.nif?

Here's another, unrelated question: If I've got an FX that is shiny and metallic and I want it to be matte, how do I change that?
« Last Edit: March 09, 2020, 02:30:05 PM by BentonGrey »
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8706
Re: Putting a Character Mesh Into an FX
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2020, 03:08:04 AM »
Howdy guys!  So, I know people have created FX out of character-type nifs.  Can anyone tell me how this is done or point me to a tutorial?  I know you can just copy an extant nif and put it into an FX easily enough, but how do you lock it into a particular pose, if it is a character.nif?

Here's another, unrelated question: If I've got an FX that is shiny and metallic and I want it to be matte, how do I change that?

The first, I can't remember right now, but the second, I might have something for.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15621
    • The Greylands
Re: Putting a Character Mesh Into an FX
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2020, 09:12:18 PM »
Thanks CB!  That takes care of the reflective issue!
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline detourne_me

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 6152
  • Manipulator of mental motion sickness
    • Force of Paradox!
Re: Putting a Character Mesh Into an FX
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2020, 11:58:53 PM »
for your first issue, you should post the whole Scene Root of the character mesh into an existing FX.nif.  I'd place the Scene Root under a parent node of the existing FX.
Then you can manipulate the rotations of the nodes for arms and legs and what have you to place it into position.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15621
    • The Greylands
Re: Putting a Character Mesh Into an FX
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2020, 12:34:15 AM »
Thanks DM!  Ahh, I thought you somehow assigned an animation for a pose.  Interesting!
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2