Please login or register.

Login with email, password and session length
 

News:

Happy Holidays!


Author Topic: FF fx.dat  (Read 178 times)

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
FF fx.dat
« on: May 18, 2020, 04:30:58 PM »
I'm fixing a few things in my FF Classic mod and don't seem to be able to use the FFv3R editor to look at fx.dat.
Anyone know if this has always been the case?

I know I have an issue reading FF characters.dat but thought everything else was fine.

Assuming it is a problem, anyone happen to be able to still run the old FF edit? I need to check the settings for an fx that's missing in the ffv3r version - turret blast, so I can add it to the mod.
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4249
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2020, 04:47:13 PM »
Do you mean that you're trying to look at the fx.dat of :ff: with FFEdit?

Or are you trying to look at the fx.dat of vanilla :ffvstr: with FFEdit?

Assuming that you're using the FFEdit that works with :ffvstr:

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2020, 04:53:10 PM »
"yes" to your first question.
I am using  :ffvstr: FFEDIT to look at the fx.dat of  :ff:

and it is just completely blank. I can look at objects.dat with no problem.
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4249
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2020, 05:55:35 PM »
Hmm... yeah, I have the same issue. Shows up blank for me.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15806
    • The Greylands
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2020, 07:28:28 PM »
Hmm, well I can't read the dat, but I'm pretty sure that the settings for turret blast would just be a beam that comes from the weapon node.  Unfortunately, I don't have that FX in my massive FX collection, so I can't check.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2020, 07:36:11 PM »
Yeah, thx - I'm gonna have to just guess. Any suggestions for sound?  just noticed I can't read sounds.dat either.
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline spydermann93

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4249
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2020, 09:25:03 PM »
Aren't there turrets that are used in some of the :ffvstr: missions?

Maybe their sounds can work for you?

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2020, 09:34:10 PM »
There are turret rotate and pitch definitions. But I did find 4 "turret blast wav" files in ffv3r sounds.ff file, so I'll set that up
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8807
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2020, 10:38:58 PM »
Would this help any?

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15806
    • The Greylands
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2020, 10:50:43 PM »
CB, you're awesome.

And that goes to show what I know.  I had forgotten they were projectiles and not beams, though in retrospect, it should have been obvious.  :P
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2020, 12:50:31 AM »
Awesome CB! How did you get those pics?
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8807
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2020, 02:02:16 AM »
I used FFEdit for FF1 to access the  :ff: Dat Files. Then I just took a regular screenshot and cropped it in PaintDotNet.

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2020, 02:23:43 AM »
You can still run FF FFedit?  :o
Do you have an old WinXP machine ?

or did you get it running on Win10 somehow?
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8807
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2020, 03:00:55 AM »
I got it running on my Windows 10 Desktop. I don't know if the game still works or not, but for now, FFEdit does.

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2020, 03:25:35 AM »
might have to give it a try. Guess I'd have to install the cd version?
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8807
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2020, 03:41:29 AM »
That's what I have installed.

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2020, 03:11:38 PM »
Weird. I completely uninstalled my GOG version of FF.
Installed from the CD version (wow, brought back memories as I watched that installer. I must have run that a zillion times years ago)

Installed FFeditor OK, but when I run it I get "FFEdit not setup correctly".
I then ran the registry file fix (on these forums) and still no luck.

Not critical as I hopefully won't need it anytime soon, but just strange.
May try it again the next time I blow up my laptop and have to reinstall windows.
 
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 15806
    • The Greylands
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2020, 03:45:30 PM »
There seems to be a very inconsistent response from  :ff: in Windows 10.  Some folks can run it and attendant programs pretty easily, others have no end of problems.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out my DC voicepacks at my yahoo group.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bentongrey2

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8807
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2020, 07:31:38 PM »
If it helps, this is what I use as my guidelines for the installation order. The only thing I did differently though, was that I installed the DotNetFx first so I could re-install PaintDotNet since I use that for work once in a while. But otherwise, this is basically the list I follow.

Install Order

FF1 (Basic):

1. Base Game
2. Patch 1.2 (or 1.3, depending)
3. Freedom Force Editor
4. Character Tool (.exe file)
5. Character Tool Update (.zip file)
6. EZ Danger Room
7. EZFX 5.1
8. FFX 2.6

FFv3R (Basic):

1. Base game
2. FFvt3R Mod Tools (Alex's Site)
3. Super Hero TV
4. EZFX 6.0
5. FFX 3.3
6. PFX 1.2
7. DotNetFx (.NET Framework Version 1.1.4322) *If Needed/May Have Compatibility Issues*
8. EZ Nif_V20

Every other extraneous add-on is a matter of merging Dat Files correctly. For example, Goggles' Map Pack, if you use it, uses FFX 3.2, but will still need EZFX installed into it if it doesn't already exist on your computer. Let's keep in mind that FFX 3.0 auto-detects, and comes with, Dat Files that are pre-configured to included EZFX.

Offline abenavides

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1635
    • Alex's Freedom Fortress
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2020, 10:03:33 PM »
Ah, I missed the patch - so used to using gog nowadays. That might be it.

FYI for FFv3R - the new EZFX 6.1 should be installed AFTER FFX3.3 (and EZFX 6.1 includes everything in PFX 1.2)
www.alexff.com
Creator of EZ Danger Room, EZFX, EZHero, The JLA Mod, The X Mod, Superhero TV, & famous Hero Recipes, coming up: New mods.

Offline Cyber Burn

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8807
Re: FF fx.dat
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2020, 11:41:43 PM »
Yeah, I just haven't updated my list yet.  :P